The MataBlog is edited by Matador Records’ co-moaner Gerard Cosloy and individual entries are the work of whoever’s name is next to them. If you enjoyed something in the MataBlog, thank you very much! If there was something you found particularly troubling, please be advised that a) maybe you should read it again and b) the contents of this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions of Matador Records, Beggars Group, the combined staff of either company, nor the Matador artist roster. Opinions are like friends — hardly anyone has one worth listening to.

Bettie Serveert - 'Palomine' 30th Anniversary Edition

(photo by Lee To Sang)

Kicking off Matador’s Revisionist History Series for 2023, today we celebrate the 30th anniversary of Bettie Serveert’s debut album, ‘Palomine’. Heralded in its original four-star review by Rolling Stone as "untamed and free as pop gets,” this 1993 classic will see its first pressing by Matador since the album's original release on June 23rd on limited-edition translucent orange vinyl, accompanied by the “Brain-Tag” 7”, which was included with the original pressing.

(stream / preorder 'Palomine')

A deluxe digital edition of the album is out today on streaming services, featuring three era-appropriate bonus songs (two of which are drawn from the ‘Brain-Tag’ 7”) – “Smile”, “Maggot”, and “Get The Bird.” Newly remastered versions of the music videos for “Kid’s Allright,” “Palomine,” and “Tom Boy” are available to watch on YouTube HERE.

“Looking back on recording the Palomine album, we were as green as grass,” say the band’s Carol van Dyk and Peter Visser, “but we loved music and most of all, we loved playing our own songs. When we started our band in the summer of ’91, we never had any ambitions, never thought about a 'career' in music, beyond maybe playing a gig or two. But then Matador Records responded to our 1st demo, offering us a record deal, which started the ball rolling and it changed our lives forever! ‘Pal o’ mine’ will always be like a dear friend to us and even after 30 years, we still enjoy playing those songs.”

While a debut album, ‘Palomine’ marked the second time around for Bettie Serveert. The band first formed in Arnhem in 1986, first calling themselves Betty Serveert, with bassist Herman Bunskoeke, guitarist Peter Visser, and singer/guitarist Carol van Dyk. At that time, Bunskoeke and Visser were also playing in a more established band, De Artsen, and decided to focus on their main gig. Betty Serveert ceased to exist after 6 months and van Dyk joined up as De Artsen’s sound engineer.

By late 1990 De Artsen had split. Bettie Serveert, as they now called themselves, reconvened, joined by drummer Berend Dubbe. A seven-song demo was recorded in December 1991 and one copy ended up in our one-room lower Broadway office.

It’s important to note that nobody in this band is named “Bettie Serveert.” The name – which translates into “Bettie served” (as in tennis) – was suggested by drummer Berend Dubbe, who had seen a tennis-instruction book by Dutch tennis player, Betty Stöve.

The reissue serves as the latest entry in Matador Records’ Revisionist History series, our ongoing campaign to jog the record-buying (and streaming!) public’s memory about our many catalog items now poised to celebrate a significant anniversary.

(art by Jeff Mahannah)

"Tom Boy" (directed by Jesse Peretz)

"Kid's Alright" (directed by Jesse Peretz)

"Palomine" (directed by Tamara Davis)

‘Palomine (30th Anniversary Deluxe Edition)’

  1. Leg

  2. Palomine

  3. Kid's Allright

  4. Brain-Tag

  5. Tom Boy

  6. Under The Surface

  7. Balentine

  8. This Thing Nowhere
    9Healthy Sick
    10 Sundazed to the Core
    11 Palomine (Small)
    12 Smile
    13 Maggot
    14 Get The Bird

‘Palomine’ LP:

Side A:

  1. Leg

  2. Palomine

  3. Kid’s Allright

  4. Tom Boy

  5. Under The Surface

Side B:

  1. Balentine

  2. This Thing Nowhere

  3. Healthy Sick

  4. Sundazed to The Core

  5. Palomine (small)


‘Brain-Tag’ 7” Tracklist:

Side A
1.Brain Tag
Side B
1. Smile
2. Get The Bird

Bettie Serveert online


Sign up for Matador updates