Archives

Categories

About

The MataBlog is edited by Matador Records’ co-moaner Gerard Cosloy and individual entries are the work of whoever’s name is next to them. If you enjoyed something in the MataBlog, thank you very much! If there was something you found particularly troubling, please be advised that a) maybe you should read it again and b) the contents of this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions of Matador Records, Beggars Group, the combined staff of either company, nor the Matador artist roster. Opinions are like friends — hardly anyone has one worth listening to.

Out Today : Belle and Sebastian - 'A Bit Of Previous'



"Talk To Me, Talk To Me" - directed by Freya and Rosalie Salkeld



(photo : Hollie Fernando)

Belle and Sebastian today release their 9th studio album, 'A Bit Of Previous'. Marking the occasion comes new video and single ‘Talk To Me To Me’. The video was written and directed by 15-year-old south London siblings Freya and Rosalie Salkeld.

(stream/purchase 'A Bit Of Previous')

Stuart Murdoch:

“We had a small budget to make the video and were going to make it ourselves, but we ran out of time. So we put out an open call to filmmakers who would be interested in making something for the existing budget, requesting an image encapsulating their idea and a 100-word pitch. The directors’ mother got in touch saying her daughters are fans of the group and keen filmmakers, and they sent in a treatment that we loved. They co-wrote and co-directed it, and got a bunch of their friends involved, and made a fresh and funny take on the song”

Directors Freya and Rosalie:

"When we found out we were going to make Belle and Sebastian’s new music video we were beyond excited. Our idea had come from photos we’d taken of our friends for art projects. Casting mates we’d recently seen in a school drama production was really fun - filming them was even better! The process as a whole was an amazing challenge and we’re so grateful for the opportunity!"






'A Bit Of Previous' is available in four different artwork covers across LP, CD and digital. The independent retail  version of the LP includes a bonus 7" with standalone track "A Bit Of Previous".

'A Bit of Previous' Tracklist
01. Young And Stupid
02. If They're Shooting At You
03. Talk To Me, Talk To Me
04. Reclaim The Night
05. Do It For Your Country
06. Prophets On Hold
07. Unnecessary Drama
08. Come On Home
09. A World Without You
10. Deathbed Of My Dreams
11. Sea Of Sorrow
12. Working Boy In New York City



Belle and Sebastian at Bandcamp.

Belle and Sebastian on Tour

Tuesday, May 24 Rabbit Rabbit, Asheville NC*
Wednesday, May 25 TCU Amphitheater at White River State Park, Indianapolis IN*
Thursday, May 26 The Riviera Theatre, Chicago IL*
Friday, May 27 Palace Theater, Minneapolis MN*
Saturday, May 28 The Admiral, Omaha NE*
Tuesday, May 31 Paramount Theatre, Seattle WA+
Wednesday, June 1 Roseland Theater, Portland OR+
Friday, June 3 Greek Theatre, Berkeley CA%
Saturday, June 4 Greek Theatre, Los Angeles CA%
Sunday, June 5 Pappy and Harriet’s, Pioneertown CA+
Tuesday, June 7 The Van Buren, Phoenix AZ+
Wednesday, June 8 The Bridge at Santa Fe Brewing Company, Santa Fe NM+
Friday, June 10 The Criterion, Oklahoma City OK+
Saturday, June 11 Stubb’s Waller Creek, Austin TX#
Monday, June 13 Ryman Auditorium, Nashville TN#
Tuesday, June 14 Red Hat Amphitheater, Raleigh NC^
Wednesday, June 15 Wolf Trap, Vienna VA^
Thursday, June 16 Central Park Summerstage, New York NY#
Friday, June 17 Franklin Music Hall, Philadelphia PA#
Saturday, June 18 Roadrunner, Boston MA#
Friday, July 15 Lloyds Amphitheatre, Bristol UK
Saturday, July 16 Doune The Rabbit Hole Festival, Stirling UK
Sunday, November 13 Great Hall - Student’s Union, Cardiff UK
Monday, November 14 The Roundhouse, London UK
Tuesday, November 15 The Roundhouse, London UK
Thursday, November 17 O2 Academy Sheffield, Sheffield UK
Friday, November 18 Olympia, Liverpool UK
Saturday, November 19 Hull University Union Asylum, Hull UK
Monday, November 21 Beach Ballroom, Aberdeen UK
Wednesday, November 23 Usher Hall, Edinburgh UK
Thursday, November 24 O2 City Hall, Newcastle UK
Friday, November 25 Manchester Academy, Manchester UK
Sunday, November 27 Corn Exchange, Cambridge UK
Monday, November 28 O2 Academy, Birmingham UK
Tuesday, November 29 Guildhall Southampton, Southampton UK
Wednesday, November 30 Brighton Dome, Brighton UK
Tuesday, January 10 Casino de Paris, Paris FR
Wednesday, January 11 Tivoli Grote Zaal, Utrecht NE
Friday, January 13 den Atelier, Luxembourg City LU
Saturday, January 14 Laeiszhalle, Hamburg DE
Monday, January 16 Tradgarn, Gothenburg SE
Tuesday, January 17 Filadelfia, Stockholm SE
Wednesday, January 18 Sentrum Scene, Oslo NO
Thursday, January 19 Vega, Copenhagen DK
Saturday, January 21 Tempodrom, Berlin DE
Sunday, January 22 Muffathalle, Munich DE
Monday, January 23 X-tra Limmathaus, Zurich CH
Wednesday, January 25 Co-op de Mai, Clermont-Ferrand FR
Thursday, January 26 Fabrique, Milan IT

* with Divino Niño
+ with Thee Sacred Souls
% with Tennis and Thee Sacred Souls
# with Los Bitchos
+ with Japanese Breakfast and Los Bitchos

Belle and Sebastian online:

Official site
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

Interpol - Bandcamp Friday



Interpol, who just announced a co-headlining tour alongside Spoon this summer, has added six albums and one EP from their catalog to Bandcamp today as the service waives their revenue share until midnight PT. Other forthcoming, new, and less-than-new music available today includes albums from Horsegirl, Perfume Genius, Pavement, Spoon, Belle and Sebastian, Lucy Dacus, and much, much more.

Matador Records on Bandcamp



 

Friday March 4 : It's Bandcamp Friday (Until It Isn't)





"Revenue Waiver Fridays Are Great And We Hope The Continue Indefinitely" is a bit unwieldy so let's just say for this Bandcamp Friday we have the following new-to-the-platform offerings :

Pavement – 'Wowee Zowee: Sordid Sentinels Edition'
Pavement – 'Brighten The Corners: Nicene Creedance Ed.'
Belle and Sebastian – 'A Bit of Previous' (Pre-order, out May 6)

matadorrecords.bandcamp.com

Bandcamp Friday : Snail Mail - 'Valentine' ,14% Off, Plus A Plethora Of Matador Catalog Titles Available On BC For The First TIme







Bandcamp are waiving their revenue share today (Friday, February 4) and with the unselfishness being contagious, we’re putting Snail Mail’s ‘Valentine’ on sale for 14% off today only

https://matadorrecords.bandcamp.com/music

New to Bandcamp this week:

Pavement – Slanted & Enchanted: Luxe & Reduxe (digital only)
Pavement – Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain: LA’s Desert Origins (digital only)
Lucy Dacus – “Kissing Lessons” download / 7” pre-order (Out June 3)
Circuit des Yeux – “The Manatee” (digital only)

And there's new-to-Bandcamp catalog titles from  Bailter Space, Body/Head, CEREMONY, Chavez, Kurt Vile, Lucy Dacus, Mary Timony, MUZZ, Perfume Genius, Snail Mail, Spoon, Stephen Malkmus, Steve Gunn, and The New Pornographers.

Mdou Moctar - "Live in Niamey, Niger" + "Afrique Victime" (Live)



(Credit: WH Moustapha)

On Thursday, April 22nd, guitarist and songwriter Mdou Moctar will broadcast a live streamed concert, Mdou Moctar – Live in Niamey, Niger. Filmed late last year, the set features Moctar’s full band including Mikey Coltun (bass + production), Souleymane Ibrahim (drums), and Ahmoudou Madassane (guitar).

Purchase tickets for the live-stream HERE.



(Poster: David Coltun)

“In winter 2020, the Mdou Moctar band met up in Niamey, the capital of Niger, to record a few songs in anticipation of the release of, Afrique Victime,” explains Coltun. “We were staying on the outskirts of town at a friend's home. One day, we quietly set up in front of the house to film a few songs. Despite our relative isolation, the noise of the band attracted a crowd. What started as the four of us simply playing a few songs for a camera turned into a three-night run of rowdy concerts, bringing in hundreds of eager listeners. Each night, kids from all over the city would line up at our door, rushing over after their final evening prayer. These performances were completely spontaneous and wholly unplanned. Thanks to the audience in Niamey, we were able to capture the spectacular energy of a typical Niamey concert for you. We're thrilled about it and hope you will be, too. Enjoy!”

The concert will stream via Bandcamp Live and will launch at 8 PM EDT. Tickets are $10. A replay will remain available for 24 hours for global audiences to view. As a preview, the band have released a performance of new single and album title track “Afrique Victime.”



Footage shot by: Mamadou Halidou & WH Moustapha / Dynamique image
Audio Recorded by: Mikey Coltun
Mixed and Mastered by Seth Manchester at Machines with Magnets

Mdou Moctar online
Official site
Instagram
Facebook
Twitter

 

Spoon - "Rainy Taxi (Big Beat)"



Spoon has released a new track "Rainy Taxi (Big Beat)" available exclusively on Bandcamp. A new take on "Rainy Taxi" from the 2014 LP They Want My Soul, the single was recorded remotely in May 2020 by Spoon's Britt Daniel and Alex Fischel in Austin TX and Los Angeles CA respectively.



During Bandcamp's 24 hour fee-waiving period today (Midnight PST Fri Sep 4 to Midnight PST Sat Sep 5) Spoon and Matador will donate all proceeds earned from the "Rainy Taxi (Big Beat)" single to Austin Community Foundation.

The premiere of the new track coincides with the release of Spoon's full discography on Bandcamp.

Buy / Stream Spoon catalog classics HERE.

Spoon online :

Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Official Site
Bandcamp

Pavement : 5 Albums On Bandcamp



(photo : Gail Butensky)

Pavement’s 5 studio albums, 'Slanted & Enchanted', 'Crooked Rain, Crooked Rain', 'Wowee Zowee', 'Brighten The Corners' and 'Terror Twilight' are now available for the first time on Bandcamp.

Pavement Online :
Pavement - official site
Pavement at Bandcamp
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

Sign up for Matador updates