The MataBlog is edited by Matador Records’ co-moaner Gerard Cosloy and individual entries are the work of whoever’s name is next to them. If you enjoyed something in the MataBlog, thank you very much! If there was something you found particularly troubling, please be advised that a) maybe you should read it again and b) the contents of this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions of Matador Records, Beggars Group, the combined staff of either company, nor the Matador artist roster. Opinions are like friends — hardly anyone has one worth listening to.

Darkside - "LIberty Bell"

stream / download "Liberty Bell"


(photo : Jed DeMoss)

DARKSIDE is the collaborative duo of Dave Harrington and Nicolas Jaar.

Dormant since the close of touring for their debut full-length, 'Psychic', the group quietly reconvened in 2018 to begin writing new music.

Following more than a year of work, Harrington and Jaar completed 'Spiral', the second DARKSIDE album, in December of 2019, which has been mixed by Rashad Becker, mastered by Heba Kadry, and will be released this spring.

Today, you can listen to the first single, "Liberty Bell".

Darkside online :
Darkside at Matador


VIDEO: Kim Gordon on Echoes w/ Jehnny Beth

Photo by Aurélie Lamachère

Early this year, just days before the world went into lockdown, Kim Gordon and her newly assembled live band performed tracks from her solo debut No Home Record for Arte's "Echoes with Jehnny Beth." The resulting half-hour set has premiered today, including a round table discussion between Gordon and the episode's other artists.

Purchase/Stream No Home Record

Kim Gordon Online
Official Website

Out Today: Interpol - "Our Love To Admire" & "Antics" Colored Vinyl Editions

Today marks the release of Interpol's "Our Love To Admire" on limited sky blue vinyl and "Antics" on limited white vinyl. Copies of each LP are available on the Matador webstore and at your participating local independent record store.

Stream Antics / Pre-order white vinyl

Stream Our Love To Admire / Pre-order sky blue vinyl

Interpol Online
Official Site
YouTube Channel

Out Today : Belle and Sebastian - 'What To Look For In Summer'

"I Didn't See It Coming" (video by Wide Eyed)

stream / purchase 'What To Look For In Summer'

Today, Belle and Sebastian release 'What to Look for in Summer', a live double album gathering choice selections from the band’s 2019 world tour, including last summer’s epic Boaty Weekender cruise.

With the release, Belle and Sebastian also present ‘channel B&S1’ – a 23-song video playlist with dedicated visuals for each track on the album. Featuring a mix-and-match of custom-made Belle and Sebastian dolls by Angharad Jefferson ("I Didn’t See It Coming", "Nice Day For A Sulk", "Dirty Dream #2"), original illustrations by Graham Samuels, ("The Fox In The Snow", "Little Lou, Ugly Jack, Prophet John"), overlays for the eagle-eyed of previous Belle and Sebastian videos ("If She Wants Me", "Beyond The Sunrise") and live footage from The Boaty Weekender and elsewhere ("The Wrong Girl", "I Didn’t See It Coming") – the collection is a one-stop shop for your "What To Look For In Summer" visual companion needs.

“Someone said it would be a good idea to have a visual clip for every song on the album. But – even though we had recorded the songs live – we only had visuals for a few of them,” explains Stuart Murdoch.

“So, we set to work with a talented pair of editors to make little vignettes for each song. We were deep in Covid, so we thought it might be interesting to have the band mime along with one of the songs while we stayed inside our respective Glasgow bubbles. Hence the clip for "Arab Strap’"came about.”

“I contrived to make a clip for "My Wandering Days Are Over" on my phone featuring my nephew Ethan and our friend Meri, who lives with us,” he says. “I had to keep them socially distanced, so that became the theme for the clip.”

tracklist :

1. The Song of The Clyde £ >
2. Dirty Dream Number Two *
3. Step Into My Office, Baby *
4. We Were Beautiful +
5. Seeing Other People %
6. If She Wants Me @
7. Beyond The Sunrise &
8. Wrapped Up In Books +
9. Little Lou, Ugly Jack, Prophet John $
10. Nice Day For A Sulk (digital only) #
11. I Can See Your Future *
12. Funny Little Frog ^
13. The Fox In The Snow+
14. If You’re Feeling Sinister*
15. My Wandering Days Are Over*
16. The Wrong Girl #
17. Stay Loose%
18. The Boy Done Wrong Again #
19. Poor Boy%
20. Dog On Wheels%
21. The Boy With The Arab Strap+
22. I Didn’t See It Coming+
23. Belle And Sebastian #

£ recorded Banchory Studios, Glasgow, August 6th, 2020 (digital version)
> recorded by Kenneth McKellar (vinyl + CD versions)
* The Boaty Weekender, August 10th, 2019
+ Royal Oak Theatre, Michigan, July 21st, 2019
% Union Transfer, Philadelphia, PA, July 12th, 2019
# House Of Blues, Boston, MA, July 13th, 2019
^ M-Telus, Montreal, QC, July 15th, 2019
@ Carnegie Hall - Pittsburgh, PA, July 18th, 2019
& House Of Blues, Cleveland, OH, July 19th, 2019
$ Auditoria Baluarte, Pamplona, Barcelona, November 4th, 2019

Belle & Sebastian online
Official site

Julien Baker - ISOLATE / CREATE

In a new installment of the "Isolate/Create" series, Julien Baker offers the stems for her new single "Faith Healer" from the forthcoming album 'Little Oblivions', These are supplied for the purpose of remixing and reinterpretation. Please share your creations on YouTube or Soundcloud and make sure to use hashtags #isolatecreate and #julienremix when posting. If you share on socials, please tag @julienrbaker and @matadorrecords too. Thanks!

Julien Baker - Isolate/Create, "Faith Healer"

stream / download "Faith Healer"
presave / preorder "Little Oblivions"

Julien Baker Online

out today : Muzz - 'Covers' EP

This morning, Muzz have released the digital EP 'Covers', a four-song collection which sees the trio of Paul Banks, Josh Kaufman and Matt Barrick reimagine songs by Arthur Russell, Bob Dylan, Mazzy Star and Tracy Chapman.

'Covers' is as much an illustration of the bands collective inspirations as it is a sonic testament to their expansive imagination and fluidity as a musical outfit, imbuing the singular classics with a sense of wonder and awe that come together to a short but powerfully holistic set.

Arthur Russell favourite "Nobody Wants A Lonely Heart" is deconstructed to its mesmerising foundations, with Banks' baritone gliding over Kaufman's submerged piano and Barrick's gentle shuffle. Bob Dylan's "Girl From The North Country" is recast in a cobweb of acoustic guitars, swooning slides and ghostly vocals that slow-burn to a mystical crescendo. Elsewhere, Banks’ invocation of Mazzy Star’s "Fade Into You" is fraught with raw emotion, set to a backdrop of palpitating percussion and arching strings. Tracy Chapman's "For You" brings the set to a buoyant and moving close, punctuated by fluttering guitar runs, cinematic pads, and Banks' soulful delivery.

1. Nobody Wants A Lonely Heart
2. Girl From The North Country
3. Fade Into You
4. For You

stream / download 'Covers'
Purchase/Stream Muzz

Muzz Online

Sign up for Matador updates