Archives

Categories

About

The MataBlog is edited by Matador Records’ co-moaner Gerard Cosloy and individual entries are the work of whoever’s name is next to them. If you enjoyed something in the MataBlog, thank you very much! If there was something you found particularly troubling, please be advised that a) maybe you should read it again and b) the contents of this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions of Matador Records, Beggars Group, the combined staff of either company, nor the Matador artist roster. Opinions are like friends — hardly anyone has one worth listening to.

King Krule - Rescheduled North American / European Tour Dates



stream / purchase  Man Alive!


King Krule's postponed North American and EU dates in support of the newly released Man Alive! have been rescheduled for September, October and December 2020. Tickets purchased for the shows' original dates will be honored. More info can be found at respective venues, linked below.
King Krule On Tour
Tuesday, September 15 Showbox Sodo, Seattle WA
Wednesday, September 16 Roseland Theatre, Portland OR
Friday, September 18 Fox Theatre, Oakland CA
Tuesday, September 22 Hollywood Palladium, Los Angeles CA
Friday, September 25 House of Blues, Dallas TX
Saturday, September 26 Stubbs Waller Creek, Austin TX
Sunday, September 27 White Oak Music Hall, Houston TX
Tuesday, October 13 Barrowland, Glasgow UK
Wednesday, October 14 Olympia, Dublin IE
Thursday, October 15 Albert Hall, Manchester UK
Sunday, October 18 Brixton Academy, London UK
Monday, October 19 Brixton Academy, London UK
Tuesday, December 1 First Avenue, Minneapolis MN
Wednesday, December 2 Riviera Theatre, Chicago IL
Friday, December 4 Queen Elizabeth Theatre, Toronto ON
Saturday, December 5 Mtelus, Montreal QC
Monday, December 7 House of Blues, Boston MA
Tuesday, December 8 Webster Hall, New York NY
Wednesday, December 9 Kings Theatre, Brooklyn NY
Friday, December 11 Union Transfer, Philadelphia PA
Sunday, December 13 9.30 Club, Washington DC
King Krule Online
Website
Instagram
Facebook

VIDEO : Perfume Genius - "On The Floor"



"On The Floor" (directed by Mike Hadreas)



(photo : Camille Vivier)

This morning, Perfume Genius releases a new single, “On The Floor" from the forthcoming new album 'Set My Heart On Fire Immediately' (May 15). “On the Floor” is a celebratory pop song that plays with the album’s themes of love, sex, memory and the body, channeling popular music mythologies while irreverently authoring its own. As with the last single “Describe,” Mike Hadreas directed the video for “On The Floor” and notes, “A crush can really live on its own, separate from you and the person you are pining for. The fantasy feels like its own world, obsession can turn the person you are longing for in to a monument that has less and less to do with them and more to do with the idea of love itself and what it can do, what it can soothe or quiet or light on fire. I wanted to show that maddening, solitary part of desire but keep the core which is a real warmth and belief that you have something crucial to share with each other."

stream / download "On The Floor"
presave / preorder 'Set My Heart On Fire Immediately'

Perfume Genius on tour :

Friday, May 29 United Center, Chicago IL *
Saturday, May 30 Fiserv Forum, Milwaukee WI *
Sunday, May 31 Little Caesar’s Arena, Detroit MI *
Tuesday, June 2 Scotia Bank Arena, Toronto ON *
Wednesday, June 3 Bell Centre, Montreal QC *
Saturday, June 6 Capital One Arena, Washington DC *
Monday, June 8 Spectrum Center, Charlotte NC *
Tuesday, June 9 State Farm Arena, Atlanta GA *
Thursday, June 11 American Airlines Arena, Miami FL *
Friday, June 12 Amway Center, Orlando FL *
Wednesday, July 17 Xcel Energy Center, St. Paul MN *
Sunday, July 19 Enterprise Center, St. Louis MN *
Monday, July 20 Sprint Center, Kansas City MO *
Tuesday, July 21 BOK Center, Tulsa OK *
Thursday, July 23 Frank Erin Center, Austin TX *
Friday, July 24 American Airlines Center, Dallas TX *
Saturday, July 25 Toyota Center, Houston TX *
Tuesday, July 28 Gila River Arena, Glendale AZ *
Thursday, July 30 Pepsi Center, Denver CO *
Saturday, August 1 Vivint Smart Home Arena, Salt Lake City UT *
Tuesday, August 3 MODA Center, Portland OR *
Wednesday, August 5 Rogers Arena, Vancouver BC *
Friday, August 7 The Gorge Amphitheater, George WA *

* with Tame Impala

Perfume Genius Online
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

Algiers - "Liberation" (Outkast) Live In Conklin Metals





A day prior to the start of their North American tour in support of 'There Is No Year', Algiers have released a live video of their cover of Outkast's "Liberation" (above). Though the recent cancelation of SXSW has seen official events wiped from the band's scheduled, Algiers will be hitting Austin in two weeks' time (see below) with an additional show likely to be added.



stream/purchase 'There Is No Year'
(limited edition cloudy clear LP available from the Matador Store and select independent retailers)

Algiers on tour :

Wednesday, March 11 Johnny Brenda’s, Philadelphia PA
Thursday, March 12 Black Cat, Washington DC
Friday, March 13 Mothlight, Asheville NC
Saturday, March 14 529, Atlanta GA
Tuesday, March 17, Cheer Up Charlies, Austin TX (1pm)
Tuesday, March 17, End Of An Ear, Austin TX (4pm)
Thursday, March 19, Hotel Vegas, Austin TX (2:45pm)
Friday, March 20 Club Congress, Tucson AZ
Saturday, March 21 Casbah, San Diego CA
Tuesday, March 24 The Echo, Los Angeles CA
Wednesday, March 25 Slim’s, San Francisco CA
Saturday, March 28 Polaris Hall, Portland OR
Sunday, March 29 The Crocodile, Seattle WA
Wednesday, April 1 Turf Club, St. Paul MN
Thursday, April 2 Cactus Club, Milwaukee WI
Friday, April 3 Empty Bottle, Chicago IL
Saturday, April 4 Rumba Club, Columbus OH
Sunday, April 5 Deluxx Fluxx, Detroit MI
Monday, April 6 The Baby G, Toronto ON
Tuesday, April 7 Bar Le Ritz, Montreal QC
Thursday, April 9 Saint Vitus, Brooklyn NY (SOLD OUT)
Friday, April 10 Saint Vitus, Brooklyn NY
Tuesday, April 21 Knust, Hamburg DE
Friday, April 24 Nalen Klubb, Stockholm SE
Saturday, April 25 Mejeriet, Lund SE
Monday, April 27 Lido, Berlin DE
Wednesday, April 29 Morze, St. Petersberg RU
Thursday, April 30 Aglomerat, Moscow RU
Sunday, May 3rd ISC, Bern CH
Monday, May 4th Bogen F, Zurich CH

Algiers Online :

There Is No Year
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Website

Kim Gordon - 'Air BnB' Live from BBC 6 Music Festival



Photo courtesy of BBC 6 Music

This weekend Kim Gordon laid down a firm indication of what's in store for the upcoming EU & North American tour dates with a blistering set streamed live  from BBC 6 Music Festival in Camden, UK.

Taking to the stage on Sunday evening, Kim and her band tore through a set list defined by the uprorious 'Air BnB', 'Hungry Baby' and 'Murdered Out'. See below for a clip of 'Air BnB':



Stream/Purchase No Home Record


Tour dates:

May 22 Villette Sonique Festival, Paris FR
Sunday, May 24 AB Ballroom, Brussels BE
Monday, May 25 Paradiso, Amsterdam NL
Wednesday, May 27 Gorilla, Manchester UK
Thursday, May 28 SWX, Bristol UK
Friday, May 29 All Points East, London UK
Sunday, May 31 Art Rock Fest, St. Brieuc FR
Tuesday, June 2 Rote Fabric, Zurich CH
Wednesday, June 3 L’Epicerie Moderne, Lyon FR
Thursday, June 4 Primavera Sound, Barcelona ES
Saturday, June 6 Northside Festival, Aarkhus DK
Monday, June 8 Astra Kulturhaus, Berlin DE
Tuesday, June 9 Gloria Theatre, Cologne DE
Thursday, June 11 NOS Primavera Sound, Porto PT
Friday, July 17 First Avenue, Minneapolis MN
Sunday, July 19 Pitchfork Music Festival, Chicago IL
Tuesday, July 21 Paradise Rock Club, Boston MA
Thursday, July 23 Webster Hall, New York NY
Friday, July 24 Union Transfer, Philadelphia PA
Saturday, July 25 9:30 Club, Washington DC
Friday, September 11 Commodore Ballroom, Vancouver BC
Saturday, September 12 Showbox, Seattle WA
Sunday, September 13 Wonder Ballroom, Portland OR
Tuesday, September 15 The Fillmore, San Francisco CA

Kim Gordon Online:

Official Website
Twitter
Instagram
Facebook

Out Today : Stephen Malkmus - 'Traditional Techniques'


(photo : Samuel Gehrke and Chris Schonting)

'Traditional Techniques', the new album from Stephen Malkmus is available from all streaming services and traditional (sorry) retail outlets.   Barring any advice from the CDC, Stephen, Chris Funk and Matt Sweeney will kick off North American touring March 31 at Minneapolis' First Avenue.



order / stream 'Traditional Techniques'




Stephen Malkmus on Tour :

Tuesday, March 31 First Avenue, Minneapolis MN
Wednesday, April 1 Turner Hall, Milwaukee WI
Thursday, April 2 Thalia Hall, Chicago IL
Friday, April 3 Headliners, Louisville KY
Saturday, April 4 Cannery Ballroom, Nashville TN
Sunday, April 5 Terminal West, Atlanta GA
Tuesday, April 7 Orange Peel, Asheville NC
Wednesday, April 8 Cat’s Cradle, Carrboro NC
Thursday, April 9 The National, Richmond VA
Friday, April 10 Black Cat, Washington DC
Saturday, April 11 Union Transfer, Philadelphia PA
Monday, April 13 Webster Hall, New York NY
Wednesday, April 15 Royale, Boston MA
Thursday, April 16 L’Astral, Montreal QC
Friday, April 17 Danforth Music Hall, Toronto ON
Saturday, April 18 Beachland Ballroom, Cleveland OH
Sunday, April 19 St. Andrew’s Hall, Detroit MI
Friday, June 26 Imperial, Vancouver BC
Saturday, June 27 The Showbox, Seattle WA
Sunday, June 28 Wonder Ballroom, Portland OR
Tuesday, June 30 The Fillmore, San Francisco CA
Wednesday, July 1 El Rey, Los Angeles CA
Thursday, July 2 The Crescent Ballroom, Phoenix AZ
Friday, July 3 Venue TBD, Santa Fe NM
Saturday, July 4 Lowbrow Palace, El Paso TX
Monday, July 6 The Mohawk, Austin TX
Tuesday, July 7 Granada Theater, Dallas TX
Wednesday, July 8 Tower Theater, Oklahoma City OK
Thursday, July 9 Granada Theater, Lawrence KS
Saturday, July 11 Gothic Theater, Denver CO

Stephen Malkmus Online
StephenMalkmus.com
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter

VIDEO : Stephen Malkmus - "Shadowbanned"



"Shadowbanned", directed by Jan Lankisch





(photo : Samuel Gerhke)

Stephen Malkmus releases a new single/video, “Shadowbanned,” from his new album, 'Traditional Techniques', coming March 6th. Following the first single “Xian Man,” “Shadowbanned” bursts with flute-laced swagger and Malkmus, as attuned as ever to the rhythms of the ever-evolving lingual slipstream sings of “Amazon wheatfields and rivers of Red Bull//drip gush drip//data driven skip//to the part where the left bros parody TED talks.” The video, directed by Jan Lankisch, features friends and fans of Malkmus, included but not limited to Kim Gordon, Kurt Vile, Conor Oberst, Mac DeMarco, Matt Korvete, Mary Lattimore, Sharon Van Etten, Jason Schwartzman and Jake Morris performing “Shadowbanned as a cartoon version of Malkmus . Said footage is interwoven with clips from older videos by Malkmus and Pavement in which the singer has been blurred, pixelated algorithmically replaced in order to render him invisible.

"The video was inspired by reading about female singers and musicians who were photoshopped from their album covers by an Iranian music streaming site,” says Lankisch who realized "Shadowbanned“with the help of Janosch Pugnaghi, Gesa Gadow, Lina Sieckmann and Miri Gossing The video represents two polar opposites: the involuntary erasure of a person in visual imagery and one's desire to perform as a persona, thereby leaving the constraints of one's everyday identity behind. "Identity is a matter of design. People like to play with characters and pretend to be someone else.” For this reason, Lankisch and Pugnaghi developed a filter for Instagram called "Being Stephen Malkmus,” which operates via face detection. The face of the user is overlaid with a stylized version of Malkmus’ face. The “Being Stephen Malkmus” Instagram filter is available today.

preorder / presave 'Traditional Techniques'

Stephen Malkmus on Tour :

Tuesday, March 31 First Avenue, Minneapolis MN
Wednesday, April 1 Turner Hall, Milwaukee WI
Thursday, April 2 Thalia Hall, Chicago IL
Friday, April 3 Headliners, Louisville KY
Saturday, April 4 Cannery Ballroom, Nashville TN
Sunday, April 5 Terminal West, Atlanta GA
Tuesday, April 7 Orange Peel, Asheville NC
Wednesday, April 8 Cat’s Cradle, Carrboro NC
Thursday, April 9 The National, Richmond VA
Friday, April 10 Black Cat, Washington DC
Saturday, April 11 Union Transfer, Philadelphia PA
Monday, April 13 Webster Hall, New York NY
Wednesday, April 15 Royale, Boston MA
Thursday, April 16 L’Astral, Montreal QC
Friday, April 17 Danforth Music Hall, Toronto ON
Saturday, April 18 Beachland Ballroom, Cleveland OH
Sunday, April 19 St. Andrew’s Hall, Detroit MI
Friday, June 26 Imperial, Vancouver BC
Saturday, June 27 The Showbox, Seattle WA
Sunday, June 28 Wonder Ballroom, Portland OR
Tuesday, June 30 The Fillmore, San Francisco CA
Wednesday, July 1 El Rey, Los Angeles CA
Thursday, July 2 The Crescent Ballroom, Phoenix AZ
Friday, July 3 Venue TBD, Santa Fe NM
Saturday, July 4 Lowbrow Palace, El Paso TX
Monday, July 6 The Mohawk, Austin TX
Tuesday, July 7 Granada Theater, Dallas TX
Wednesday, July 8 Tower Theater, Oklahoma City OK
Thursday, July 9 Granada Theater, Lawrence KS
Saturday, July 11 Gothic Theater, Denver CO

Stephen Malkmus Online
StephenMalkmus.com
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter

Sign up for Matador updates