Archives

Categories

About

The MataBlog is edited by Matador Records’ co-moaner Gerard Cosloy and individual entries are the work of whoever’s name is next to them. If you enjoyed something in the MataBlog, thank you very much! If there was something you found particularly troubling, please be advised that a) maybe you should read it again and b) the contents of this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions of Matador Records, Beggars Group, the combined staff of either company, nor the Matador artist roster. Opinions are like friends — hardly anyone has one worth listening to.

Horsegirl - "Anti-glory" and "Beautiful Song" explained






Horsegirl recently took time out of their busy schedule to sit down in our New York offices and answer questions about 2 stand out tracks from "Versions Of Modern Performance', "Anti-glory" and "Beautiful Song". We appreciate their patience --- there's a long list of labelmates who pretend to get lost on the way to the building in order to avoid such things (we fell for the story about soundcheck starting at 10am once already --- a live music expert tells that almost never happens).

stream / purchase 'Versions Of Modern Performance'

Horsegirl on tour :

Fri. Jul. 1 - Denmark, DE @ Roskilde Festival 2022
Sat. Jul. 2 - Hamburg, DE @ Molotow Upstairs
Fri. Jul. 15 - Vancouver, BC @ Wise Hall *
Sat. Jul. 16 - Seattle, WA @ Neumos *
Sun. Jul. 17 - Portland, OR @ Polaris Hall *
Tue. Jul. 19 - San Francisco, CA @ Rickshaw Stop
Thu. Jul. 21 - Los Angeles, CA @ Zebulon *
Fri. Jul. 22 - Los Angeles, CA @ The Echo *
Sat. Jul. 23 - Santa Ana, CA @ Constellation Room *
Tue. Jul. 26 - Minneapolis, MN @ Fine Line *
Wed. Jul. 27 - Madison, WI @ High Noon Saloon *
Thu. July 28 - Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club *
Fri. Jul. 30 - Sat. Jul. 31 - Detroit, MI @ Mo Pop Festival
Sat. July 31 - Chicago, IL @ Lollapalooza Music Festival
Tue. Aug. 2 - Columbus, OH @ Rumba Cafe *
Wed. Aug. 3 - Cleveland, OH @ Grog Shop *
Fri. Aug. 5 - Toronto, ON @ Velvet Underground *
Sat. Aug. 6 - Montreal, QC @ Petit Campus *
Sun. Aug. 7 - Cambridge, MA @ The Sinclair *
Wed. Aug. 10 - New York, NY @ Bowery Ballroom *
Sun. Oct. 02 - Brooklyn, NY @ Kings Theatre &


* w/ Dummy
& supporting Pavement

 

Horsegirl Online
Twitter
Instagram

Belle and Sebastian - "Working Boy In New York City" b/w "We Rule The School" (Amazon Originals)



Belle and Sebastian have released live renditions of two tracks for Amazon Original: "Working Boy in New York City", taken from the group’s latest album 'A Bit of Previous' and "We Rule the School", previously heard on the band’s 1996 debut album 'Tigermilk', this time with vocals performed by rising Scottish pop pioneer Wuh Oh. Between them, the songs span 26 years in the seminal collective’s lustrous history.

stream : "Working Boy In New York City" b/w "We Rule The School"

stream/purchase the album 'A Bit Of Previous'

Belle and Sebastian on tour :

Friday, July 8 Cactus Festival, Bruges BE
Friday, July 15 Lloyds Amphitheatre, Bristol UK
Saturday, July 16 Doune The Rabbit Hole Festival, Stirling UK
Sunday, November 13 Great Hall - Student’s Union, Cardiff UK
Monday, November 14 The Roundhouse, London UK
Tuesday, November 15 The Roundhouse, London UK
Thursday, November 17 O2 Academy Sheffield, Sheffield UK
Friday, November 18 Olympia, Liverpool UK
Saturday, November 19 Hull University Union Asylum, Hull UK
Monday, November 21 Beach Ballroom, Aberdeen UK
Wednesday, November 23 Usher Hall, Edinburgh UK
Thursday, November 24 O2 City Hall, Newcastle UK
Friday, November 25 Manchester Academy, Manchester UK
Sunday, November 27 Corn Exchange, Cambridge UK
Monday, November 28 O2 Academy, Birmingham UK
Tuesday, November 29 Guildhall Southampton, Southampton UK
Wednesday, November 30 Brighton Dome, Brighton UK
Sunday, January 8 Le Mem, Rennes FR
Tuesday, January 10 Casino de Paris, Paris FR
Wednesday, January 11 Tivoli Grote Zaal, Utrecht NE
Friday, January 13 den Atelier, Luxembourg City LU
Saturday, January 14 Laeiszhalle, Hamburg DE
Monday, January 16 Tradgarn, Gothenburg SE
Tuesday, January 17 Filadelfia, Stockholm SE
Wednesday, January 18 Sentrum Scene, Oslo NO
Thursday, January 19 Vega, Copenhagen DK
Saturday, January 21 Tempodrom, Berlin DE
Sunday, January 22 Muffathalle, Munich DE
Monday, January 23 X-tra Limmathaus, Zurich CH
Wednesday, January 25 Co-op de Mai, Clermont-Ferrand FR
Thursday, January 26 Fabrique, Milan IT

+ with Thee Sacred Souls
# with Los Bitchos
^ with Japanese Breakfast and Los Bitchos

Belle and Sebastian online:

Official site
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

Snail Mail - "Feeling Like I Do" b/w "Headlock" (Spotify Singles)




Snail Mail (Lindsey Jordan) has released a cover of Superdrag’s “Feeling Like I Do” and a new version of “Headlock”, one of the standouts from her critically acclaimed 2021 album ‘Valentine’, for Spotify Singles. The two-song release drops in the midst of Snail Mail’s UK tour, which tonight (Wednsday, June 29th) sees her taking the stage at London’s Kentish Town Forum.

Speaking of the two new recordings, Jordan said: "I think that the Spotify version of ‘Headlock’ is different from the original, in that the original was recorded almost two years ago, and the more I perform the song the more I think of ideas that I wish I had put into the original. This version gave me the opportunity to implement some of those ideas. It's been really cool getting to cover ‘Feeling Like I Do’ by Superdrag because I love it, and I've loved it for a while, and I was able to make it my own by singing on it".

stream "Feeling Like I Do"

Tracklist
1. Feeling Like I Do
2. Headlock

Purchase / Stream 'Valentine'

Snail Mail on Tour

Wednesday, June 29 O2 Forum Kentish Town, London UK +
Thursday, June 30 Chalk, Brighton UK +
Wednesday, July 6 Epicerie Moderne, Lyon FR +
July 7-9 Pohoda Festival, Trencin SK
Saturday, July 30 Fuji Rock Festival, Minamiuonuma JP
Friday, August 12 Fete Music Hall, Providence RI *
Saturday, August 13 Higher Ground, Burlington VT *
Sunday, August 14 Beak and Skiff, Syracuse NY !
Tuesday, August 16 Toad’s Place, New Haven CT *
Wednesday, August 17 The Stone Pony, Asbury Park NJ *
Friday, August 19 The National, Richmond VA *
Saturday, August 20, The NorVa, Norfolk VA *
Sunday, August 21 Neighborhood Theater, Charlotte NC *
Tuesday, August 23 The Beacham Theater, Orlando FL *
Wednesday, August 24 The Ritz Ybor, Tampa FL *
Friday, August 26 Saturn, Birmingham AL *
Saturday, August 27 The Mill & Mine, Knoxville TN *
Sunday, August 28 Headliners Music Hall, Louisville KY *
Tuesday, August 30 The Castle Theatre, Bloomington IL *
Wednesday, August 31 Majestic Theatre, Madison WI *
Friday, September 2 Turner Hall, Milwaukee WI *
Saturday, September 3 The Pageant, St. Louis MO *
Sunday, September 4 The Athenaeum Theatre, Columbus OH *
Tuesday, September 6 Majestic Theatre, Detroit MI *
Wednesday, September 7 Mr. Smalls Theatre, Millvale PA *
Friday, September 9 The Fillmore, Silver Spring MD *
Saturday, September 24 Frantic City, Atlantic City NJ &
Monday, October 3 The Brooklyn Mirage, Brooklyn NY ^
Tuesday, October 4 HISTORY, Toronto ON ^
Sunday, October 9 The Anthem, Washington DC ^
Tuesday, October 11 The Fillmore, Charlotte NC ^
Thursday, October 13 House of Blues, Lake Buena Vista FL ^
Friday, October 14 Jannus Live, St. Petersburg FL ^
Sunday, October 16 Orpheum Theater, New Orleans LA ^
Tuesday, October 18 Uptown Theater, Kansas City MO ^
Wednesday, October 19 The Pageant, St. Louis MO ^
Friday, October 21 Old Forester's Paristown Hall, Louisville KY ^
Saturday, October 22 KEMBA Live!, Columbus OH ^
Sunday, October 23 Byline Bank Aragon Ballroom, Chicago IL ^
Tuesday, October 25 The Fillmore, Minneapolis MN ^
Thursday, October 27 Mission Ballroom, Denver CO ^
Friday, October 28 The Complex, Salt Lake City UT ^
Sunday, October 30 Fox Theater, Oakland CA ^
Monday, October 31 The Warfield, San Francisco CA ^
Monday, November 7 The Van Buren, Phoenix AZ #
Tuesday, November 8 Brooklyn Bowl, Las Vegas NV #
Friday, November 11 The Aztec Theatre, San Antonio TX #
Saturday, November 12 Bayou Music Center, Houston TX #
Wednesday, November 16 Stage AE, Pittsburgh PA #
Thursday, November 17 Town Ballroom, Buffalo NY #
Saturday, November 19 Roadrunner, Boston MA #

+ w/ The Goon Sax
= w/ St. Vincent
* w/ Hotline TNT & Momma
! w/ Courtney Barnett, Faye Webster, and Hana Vu
& w/ Yo La Tengo, Car Seat Headrest and more
^ w/ Turnstile, JPEGMAFIA
# w/ Turnstile, special guest

Snail Mail Online
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Website

Spoon - "My Babe" Video, Adrian Sherwood Reconstruction





Today, you can watch the video for “My Babe.” It’s 'Lucifer On The Sofa''s  anthemic centerpiece – a genuine love song shot through with tenderness, optimism, and a touch of self-aware bravado.



The “My Babe” video takes inspiration from a short-lived late ’70s variety show hosted by the legendary country music producer and oddball poet, “Cowboy” Jack Clement. The clip is directed by Jamie-James Medina and stars Brad Leland ("Friday Night Lights"). On streaming services the song is backed with a reconstruction by dub pioneer Adrian Sherwood (above, photo by Harry Borden).

stream / download "My Babe" (Adrian Sherwood reconstruction

stream / purchase 'Lucifer On The Sofa'

Spoon on tour :

Thursday, July 7 Town Ballroom, Buffalo NY
Friday, July 8 Empire Live, Albany NY
Saturday, July 9 Festival d'ete de Quebec, Quebec City QC
Monday, July 11 London Music Hall, London ON *
Tuesday, July 12 State Theatre, Kalamazoo MI *
Wednesday, July 13 The Sylvee, Madison WI *
Friday, July 15 Canopy Club, Urbana IL *
Saturday, July 16 Englert Civic Theatre, Iowa City IA *
Monday, July 18 Burton Cummings Theatre, Winnipeg MB
Tuesday, July 19 Conexus Arts Centre, Regina SK
Wednesday, July 20 Coors Centre, Saskatoon SK
Friday, July 22 Midway, Edmonton AB
Saturday, July 23 Calgary Folk Fest, Calgary AB
Monday, July 25 Capital Ballroom, Victoria BC
Tuesday, July 26 Commodore Ballroom, Vancouver BC
Thursday, August 25  Stone Pony Summer Stage, Asbury Park NJ %
Friday, August 26 Budweiser Stage, Toronto ON #
Saturday, August 27 Thompson’s Point, ­Portland ME %
Sunday, August 28 Bold Point Pavilion, Providence RI %
Tuesday, August 30 KEMBA Live! Outdoor, Columbus OH %
Thursday, September 1 ­­Andrew J. Brady Music Center, Cincinnati OH %
Saturday, September 3 Rabbit Rabbit, Asheville NC %
Sunday, September 4 Ryman Auditorium, Nashville TN %
Tuesday, September 6 ­Stage AE Outdoors, Pittsburgh PA %
Thursday, September 8 TCU Amphitheater at White River Park, Indianapolis IN %
Friday, September 9 ­Stifel Theatre, St. Louis MO %
Saturday, September 10 The Criterion, Oklahoma City OK %
Tuesday, September 13 The Theater at Virgin Hotels Las Vegas, Las Vegas NV %
Wednesday, September 14 Vina Robles Amphitheatre, Paso Robles CA %
Friday, September 16 Paramount Theatre, Seattle WA %
Saturday, September 17 Pioneer Courthouse Square, Portland OR %
Sunday, September 18 Pioneer Courthouse Square, Portland OR %
Thursday, October 6 Tolouse Theatre, New Orleans LA
Friday, October 7 Tolouse Theatre, New Orleans LA
October 7-9 Austin City Limits Festival, Austin TX
Tuesday, October 11 Cain’s Ballroom, Tulsa OK
October 14-16 Austin City Limits Festival, Austin TX
Saturday, November 19 Corona Capital Festival, Mexico City MX

* w/ Bodega
# Metric, Interpol, Spoon
% w/ Interpol, The Goon Sax

Spoon Online
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Official Site
Bandcamp

Adrian Sherwood / On-U Sound online
Adrian Sherwood.com


Facebook

Twitter

Instagram

Belle and Sebastian - KEXP Session





(photo by Amber Knecht)

Belle and Sebastian's May 31 session for KEXP is now available to view in full (above).  After a triumphant North American tour, the band return to the road July 8 at Bruges' Cactus Festival (full schedule can be found below.

stream / purchase the album 'A Bit Of Previous'
stream / download the single "A Bit Of Previous"

Belle and Sebastian on tour :
(tickets)

Friday, July 8 Cactus Festival, Bruges BE
Friday, July 15 Lloyds Amphitheatre, Bristol UK
Saturday, July 16 Doune The Rabbit Hole Festival, Stirling UK
Sunday, November 13 Great Hall - Student’s Union, Cardiff UK
Monday, November 14 The Roundhouse, London UK
Tuesday, November 15 The Roundhouse, London UK
Thursday, November 17 O2 Academy Sheffield, Sheffield UK
Friday, November 18 Olympia, Liverpool UK
Saturday, November 19 Hull University Union Asylum, Hull UK
Monday, November 21 Beach Ballroom, Aberdeen UK
Wednesday, November 23 Usher Hall, Edinburgh UK
Thursday, November 24 O2 City Hall, Newcastle UK
Friday, November 25 Manchester Academy, Manchester UK
Sunday, November 27 Corn Exchange, Cambridge UK
Monday, November 28 O2 Academy, Birmingham UK
Tuesday, November 29 Guildhall Southampton, Southampton UK
Wednesday, November 30 Brighton Dome, Brighton UK
Sunday, January 8 Le Mem, Rennes FR
Tuesday, January 10 Casino de Paris, Paris FR
Wednesday, January 11 Tivoli Grote Zaal, Utrecht NE
Friday, January 13 den Atelier, Luxembourg City LU
Saturday, January 14 Laeiszhalle, Hamburg DE
Monday, January 16 Tradgarn, Gothenburg SE
Tuesday, January 17 Filadelfia, Stockholm SE
Wednesday, January 18 Sentrum Scene, Oslo NO
Thursday, January 19 Vega, Copenhagen DK
Saturday, January 21 Tempodrom, Berlin DE
Sunday, January 22 Muffathalle, Munich DE
Monday, January 23 X-tra Limmathaus, Zurich CH
Wednesday, January 25 Co-op de Mai, Clermont-Ferrand FR
Thursday, January 26 Fabrique, Milan IT

+ with Thee Sacred Souls
# with Los Bitchos
^ with Japanese Breakfast and Los Bitchos

Belle and Sebastian online:

Official site
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

Snail Mail - Fall '22 Tour w/ Turnstile & JPEGMAFIA



Today Snail Mail has announced over two dozen new tour dates alongside fellow Baltimore natives Turnstile and JPEGMAFIA. Tickets for the Fall '22 performances, which span across North America, are on sale this Thursday at 10am local time.

Purchase / Stream Snail Mail's Valentine

Snail Mail on Tour, New Dates in Bold
Tuesday, June 21 Paradiso Noord, Amsterdam NL +
Thursday, June 23 The Ritz, Manchester UK +
Friday, June 24 QMU, Glasgow UK +
Sunday, June 26 Fairview Park, Dublie IE =
Tuesday, June 28 Marble Factory, Bristol UK +
Wednesday, June 29 O2 Forum Kentish Town, London UK +
Thursday, June 30 Chalk, Brighton UK +
Wednesday, July 6 Epicerie Moderne, Lyon FR +
July 7-9 Pohoda Festival, Trencin SK
Saturday, July 30 Fuji Rock Festival, Minamiuonuma JP
Friday, August 12 Fete Music Hall, Providence RI *
Saturday, August 13 Higher Ground, Burlington VT *
Sunday, August 14 Beak and Skiff, Syracuse NY !
Tuesday, August 16 Toad’s Place, New Haven CT *
Wednesday, August 17 The Stone Pony, Asbury Park NJ *
Friday, August 19 The National, Richmond VA *
Saturday, August 20, The NorVa, Norfolk VA *
Sunday, August 21 Neighborhood Theater, Charlotte NC *
Tuesday, August 23 The Beacham Theater, Orlando FL *
Wednesday, August 24 The Ritz Ybor, Tampa FL *
Friday, August 26 Saturn, Birmingham AL *
Saturday, August 27 The Mill & Mine, Knoxville TN *
Sunday, August 28 Headliners Music Hall, Louisville KY *
Tuesday, August 30 The Castle Theatre, Bloomington IL *
Wednesday, August 31 Majestic Theatre, Madison WI *
Friday, September 2 Turner Hall, Milwaukee WI *
Saturday, September 3 The Pageant, St. Louis MO *
Sunday, September 4 The Athenaeum Theatre, Columbus OH *
Tuesday, September 6 Majestic Theatre, Detroit MI *
Wednesday, September 7 Mr. Smalls Theatre, Millvale PA *
Friday, September 9 The Fillmore, Silver Spring MD *
Saturday, September 24 Frantic City, Atlantic City NJ &
Monday, October 3 The Brooklyn Mirage, Brooklyn NY ^
Tuesday, October 4 HISTORY, Toronto ON ^
Sunday, October 9 The Anthem, Washington DC ^
Tuesday, October 11 The Fillmore, Charlotte NC ^
Thursday, October 13 House of Blues, Lake Buena Vista FL ^
Friday, October 14 Jannus Live, St. Petersburg FL ^
Sunday, October 16 Orpheum Theater, New Orleans LA ^
Tuesday, October 18 Uptown Theater, Kansas City MO ^
Wednesday, October 19 The Pageant, St. Louis MO ^
Friday, October 21 Old Forester's Paristown Hall, Louisville KY ^
Saturday, October 22 KEMBA Live!, Columbus OH ^
Sunday, October 23 Byline Bank Aragon Ballroom, Chicago IL ^
Tuesday, October 25 The Fillmore, Minneapolis MN ^
Thursday, October 27 Mission Ballroom, Denver CO ^
Friday, October 28 The Complex, Salt Lake City UT ^
Sunday, October 30 Fox Theater, Oakland CA ^
Monday, October 31 The Warfield, San Francisco CA ^
Monday, November 7 The Van Buren, Phoenix AZ #
Tuesday, November 8 Brooklyn Bowl, Las Vegas NV #
Friday, November 11 The Aztec Theatre, San Antonio TX #
Saturday, November 12 Bayou Music Center, Houston TX #
Wednesday, November 16 Stage AE, Pittsburgh PA #
Thursday, November 17 Town Ballroom, Buffalo NY #
Saturday, November 19 Roadrunner, Boston MA #

+ w/ The Goon Sax
= w/ St. Vincent
* w/ Hotline TNT & Momma
! w/ Courtney Barnett, Faye Webster, and Hana Vu
& w/ Yo La Tengo, Car Seat Headrest and more
^ w/ Turnstile, JPEGMAFIA
# w/ Turnstile, special guest

Snail Mail Online
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram
Website

Sign up for Matador updates