Archives

Categories

About

The MataBlog is edited by Matador Records’ co-moaner Gerard Cosloy and individual entries are the work of whoever’s name is next to them. If you enjoyed something in the MataBlog, thank you very much! If there was something you found particularly troubling, please be advised that a) maybe you should read it again and b) the contents of this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions of Matador Records, Beggars Group, the combined staff of either company, nor the Matador artist roster. Opinions are like friends — hardly anyone has one worth listening to.

Esben And The Witch US and Canada Tour Dates!


Photo taken from The Line Of Best Fit
 

Esben And The Witch, one of our best live bands (just sayin'!), will be touring the US in support of their new album, Wash the Sins Not Only The Face:

Thu Mar 21 - Philadephia, PA - Kung Fu Necktie

Fri Mar 22 - New York, NY - Mercury Lounge

Sat Mar 23 - Brooklyn, NY - Knitting Factory

Sun Mar 24 - Montreal, QC - Il Motore

Mon Mar 25 - Toronto, ON - Underground at The Drake

Tue Mar 26 - Chicago, IL - Empty Bottle

Wed Mar 27 - Minneapolis, MN - 7th St Entry

Sun Mar 31 - Vancouver, BC - The Media Club

Mon Apr 01 - Seattle, WA - Chop Suey

Tue Apr 02 - Portland, OR - Mississippi Studios

Thu Apr 04 - San Francisco, CA - Brick & Mortar Music Hall

Fri Apr 05 - Los Angeles, CA - Bootleg Bar

Sat Apr 06 - San Diego, CA - Soda Bar

Sun Apr 07 - Phoenix, AZ - Crescent Ballroom

Tue Apr 09 - Austin, TX - The Mohawk

Wed Apr 10 - Dallas, TX - Club Dada

Thu Apr 11 - Houston, TX - Fitzgerald's

Fri Apr 12 - New Orleans, LA - Circle Bar

Sat Apr 13 - Atlanta, GA - Masquerade (Purgatory Stage)

Sun Apr 14 - Durham, NC - Motorco

Mon Apr 15 - Washington, DC - DC9

Of their live show, the Los Angeles Times said, "They alternate moments of grandeur with explosions of fury, with all three members occasionally breaking from a swelling guitar crescendo to put the music on militaristic alert by simultaneously pounding away at the single drum that stands at the front of the stage…singer Rachel Davies works the stage as something of a possessed force. Rarely without a pair of drumsticks in her hands, she is ready to strike, regardless of what is or isn't in her way."

Hear & download the "Deathwaltz" MP3 HERE, and watch the remarkable video for "Despair" below. (Esben have a fantastic videography, check out THIS, THIS, THIS, and THIS too.)

"Hells Bells Sauvignon Blanc" - Because "Death By Misadventure Pinot Noir" Doesn't Quite Roll Off The Tongue



WINE UPDATE!  Despite initially pitching AC/DC : The Wine as a limited offering, booze peddler Vinport STILL has many bottles in stock and ready for your wine cellar.  Described in this space last February by one of our more experienced wine critics as an experience not unlike "Malcom Young spitting in your mouth", I remain hopeful this exercise in branding / living the high life is just a precursor to a product Matador can thoroughly endorse.  Something like, say, Stu Spasm : The Smokeless Tobacco.

Please Excuse Us If We're Holding Out For Radios Appear Pinot Noir



images culled from Laithwaites, who promise the AC/DC 'Hells Bells' Sauvignon Blanc,  "is everything you'd expect - a deft combination of power and finesse and giving you oodles of vibrant, grassy tropical fruit. It's a dazzling apéritif, guaranteed to awaken your taste buds. Also a good match for fish and chips or mildly spicy Asian dishes." So it's exactly like having Malcom Young spit in your mouth, then.

Sign up for Matador updates

Privacy Policy