Archives

Categories

About

The MataBlog is edited by Matador Records’ co-moaner Gerard Cosloy and individual entries are the work of whoever’s name is next to them. If you enjoyed something in the MataBlog, thank you very much! If there was something you found particularly troubling, please be advised that a) maybe you should read it again and b) the contents of this blog do not necessarily represent the opinions of Matador Records, Beggars Group, the combined staff of either company, nor the Matador artist roster. Opinions are like friends — hardly anyone has one worth listening to.

VIDEO : Kurt Vile - "Loading Zones"





This morning, we're pleased to present the Kurt Vile video, “Loading Zones,” the first new music to surface from him since 2015. Directed by Drew Saracco, the video is a paean to Kurt's City of Brotherly Love, and a farcical tribute to the song’s lyrics, a loose account of his peculiar parking strategy. Law enforcement is played by Kevin Corrigan and Matt Korvette.

Kurt and The Violators (Rob Laakso, Kyle Spence, and Jesse Trbovich) hit the road this fall on an extensive global tour. Tickets are on-sale now for the full world tour, which commences in Hamburg, Germany on October 12th. The North American leg, where fans can expect a further taste of new music in addition to the band’s iconic catalogue, kicks off on November 24th in Boston. The band has partnered with PLUS1 so that $1 per ticket sold will go to support the ACLU’s work defending and protecting our individual rights and liberties.  The full list of tour dates can be found below.

stream / download "Loading Zones"



(photo by Jo McCaughey)

Kurt Vile and The Violators on tour :

Friday, October 12th - Grünspan – Hamburg, DE ^
Saturday, October 13th - Pustervik - Gothenburg, SE ^
Sunday, October 14th - Rockefeller – Oslo, NO #
Monday, October 15th - Bern – Stockholm, SE #
Tuesday, October 16th - Vega – Copenhagen, DK #
Thursday, October 18th - Huxleys – Berlin, DE #
Friday, October 19th - Muffathalle – Munich, DE #
Saturday, October 20th - X-Tra – Zurich, CH #
Sunday, October 21st - Epicerie Moderne – Lyon, FR #
Monday, October 22ns - Apolo – Barcelona, ES #
Tuesday, October 23rd - Teatro Barceló – Madrid, ES #
Thursday, October 25th - Lisboa Ao Vivo – Lisbon, PT #
Friday, October 26th - Hard Club – Porto, PT #
Sunday, October 28th - Rockschool Barbey – Bordeaux, FR #
Monday, October 29th - La Cigale – Paris, FR #
Tuesday, October 30th - Autumn Falls @ AB - Brussels, BE #
Thursday, November 1st - Paradiso – Amsterdam, NL #
Friday, November 2nd - Kantine – Köln, DE #
Monday, November 5th - Concorde 2 – Brighton, UK #
Tuesday, November 6th - Shepherd’s Bush Empire – London, UK #
Wednesday, November 7th - Shepherd’s Bush Empire – London, UK #
Thursday, November 8th - St Philips Gate - Bristol, UK #
Friday, November 9th - The Crossing - Birmingham, UK #
Saturday, November 10th - Albert Hall – Manchester, UK #
Sunday, November 11th - 02 Academy – Leeds, UK #
Tuesday, November 13th - 02 ABC – Glasgow, UK #
Wednesday, November 14th - Vicar Street - Dublin, IR #
Sunday, November 24 House of Blues, Boston MA *
Wednesday, November 28 Brooklyn Steel, Brooklyn NY *
Friday, November 30 9:30 Club, Washington DC *
Monday, December 3 Variety Playhouse, Atlanta GA *
Wednesday, December 5 Jones Assembly, Oklahoma City OK *
Thursday, December 6 ACL Live Moody Theater, Austin TX *
Friday, December 7 Canton Hall, Dallas TX *
Sunday, December 9 The Observatory North Park, San Diego CA *
Tuesday, December 11 The Wiltern, Los Angeles CA *
Wednesday, December 12 Fox Theater, Oakland CA *
Friday, December 14 Crystal Ballroom, Portland OR *
Saturday, December 15 Moore Theatre, Seattle WA *
Sunday, December 16 Vogue, Vancouver BC *
Wednesday, December 19 First Avenue, Minneapolis MN *
Thursday, December 20 Sylvee, Madison WI *
Friday, December 21 Turner Hall Milwaukee WI *
Saturday, December 22 Rivera Theatre, Chicago IL *


^ - with Meg Baird (solo)
# - with Meg Baird & Mary Lattimore
*- with Jessica Pratt


Kurt Vile Online
Website
Facebook
Twitter
Instagram

VIDEO : Iceage - "Under The Sun"



Following a seven-week US tour on the heels of the recent release of their new album, Beyondless, Iceage have shared a new video for album stand-out track, “Under The Sun.” The video was filmed in Tokyo during their ‘Opening Nights’ residencies, which was an inter-continental exhibition that saw Iceage collaborating with their favorite visual artists (also staged in NYC and LA).

Directed by XXX, the “Under The Sun” video features the vibrant, eye-catching floral designs of renowned flower sculptor, Azuma Makoto, who handpicked Iceage for his flower-music installation series titled “Crazy Garden x Iceage.” The band’s darkly beautiful and chaotic live performance is an unexpected, yet fitting, foil to the delicate blooms

(stream/order 'Beyondless')



After a North American co-headline tour with The Black Lips in November, Iceage will return to London for a special performance at the Hackney Arts Centre on December 7th, with Helm and Astrid Sonne opening, and set design by Christian Friedlander. The full list of tour dates can be found below.

Thursday, August 30 Sounddrive Festival, Gdansk PL
Friday, August 31 Off The Radar Festival, Hamburg DE
Sunday, September 2 End of the Road Festival, Tollard Royal UK
Monday, September 3 Hare and Hounds, Birmingham UK
Tuesday, September 4 Brudenell Social Club, Leeds UK
Thursday, September 6 The Great Eastern, Glasgow UK
Friday, September 7 Workmans Club, Dublin IE
Saturday, September 8 Clwb ifor Bach, Cardiff UK
Sunday, September 9 Gorilla, Manchester UK
Monday, September 10 The Haunt, Brighton UK
Tuesday, September 11 Rotown, Rotterdam NL
Wednesday, September 12 Blue Shell, Cologne DE
Thursday, September 13 Karlstorbahnhof, Heidelberg DE
Friday, September 14 Leffingeleuren Festival, Leffinge BE
Friday, September 21 Studenterhuset, Alborg DK
Monday, September 24 Tavastia, Helsinki FI
Tuesday, September 25 John Dee, Oslo NO
Wednesday, September 26 Debaser, Stockholm SE
Thursday, September 27 Pustervik, Goteborg SE
Friday, September 28 Kansas City, Odense DK
Saturday, September 29 Journey Festival, Copenhagen DK
Friday, October 26 Hard Club, Porto PT
Saturday, October 27 Jameson Urban Routes Festival, Lisbon PT
Sunday, October 28 Sala X, Sevilla ES
Monday, October 29 El Sol, Madrid ES
Tuesday, October 30 Le [2], Barcelona ES
Thursday, November 1 Le Sonic, Lyon FR
Friday, November 2 Club To Club Festival, Torino IT
Saturday November 3 Rote Fabrik, Zurich CH
Monday, November 5 Rickshaw Theatre, Vancouver BC &
Tuesday, November 6 The Showbox at The Market, Seattle WA &
Wednesday, November 7 Wonder Ballroom, Portland OR &
Friday, November 9 Great American Music Hall, San Francisco CA &
Saturday, November 10 The Glass House, Pomona CA &
Sunday, November 11 Marty’s On Newport, Tustin CA &
Monday, November 12 The Regent, Los Angeles CA &
Tuesday, November 13 House of Blues, San Diego CA &
Wednesday, November 14 Crescent Ballroom, Phoenix AZ &
Friday, November 16 Granada Theater, Dallas TX&
Saturday, November 17 Mohawk, Austin TX &
Sunday, November 18 White Oak Music Hall, Houston TX &
Monday, November 19 One Eyed Jack’s, New Orleans LA
Tuesday, November 20 Saturn, Birmingham AL &
Friday, November 23 The Earl, Atlanta GA &
Saturday, November 24 The Earl, Atlanta GA &
Sunday, November 25 Music Hall of Williamsburg, Brooklyn NY &
Tuesday, November 27 Elsewhere, Brooklyn NY &
Friday, December 7th Hackney Arts Centre, London UK

& - with Black Lips, Surfbort

Interpol announce two UK release week shows

To celebrate the release of 'Marauder' on August 24th, Interpol have just announced two extremely special, extremely limited shows to take place in the UK during release week.

On Wednesday, August 29th the band will play a special performance in Kingston, in conjunction with Banquet Records. Tickets go on sale at 11:00 BST on Monday, August 6th. Full details are available here



Rough Trade East will host a second performance the following day - Thursday, August 30th. Pre-order 'Marauder' now via Rough Trade for entry. Full details available here



Tour dates

Monday, August 13 Teatro De La Ciudad Esperanza Iris, Mexico City MX
Tuesday, August 14 Teatro De La Ciudad Esperanza Iris, Mexico City MX
Thursday, August 23rd – Union Transfer, Philadelphia PA @ (SOLD OUT)
Friday, August 24th – House Of Vans, Brooklyn NY
Tuesday, September 11th – Orpheum Theater, Boston MA*
Wednesday, September 12th – Olympic Theater, Montreal QC*
Thursday, September 13th – Rebel, Toronto ONT*
September 14-15 – Riot Fest, Douglas Park, Chicago IL
Sunday, Septemeber 16 – Royal Oak Theater, Detroit MI*
Monday, September 17 – Express Live, Columbus OH*
Thursday, September 27 – Bomb Factory, Dallas TX*
Friday, September 28 – Bass Concert Hall, Austin TX*
Saturday, September 29 – White Oak Music Hall Lawn, Houston TX*
Monday, October 1 – The Van Buren, Phoenix AZ*
Thursday, October 4th – Hollywood Bowl – Los Angeles, CA ^
Friday, October 5th – SDSU Open Air Theater, San Diego CA ++
Saturday, October 6th – Greek Theatre – Berkeley CA
Tuesday, November 6th – Akasaka Blitz – Tokyo, JP
Wednesday, November 14th – Royal Albert Hall – London, UK $
Friday, November 16th – 02 Apollo, Manchester UK $
Sunday, November 18th – Olympia Theater, Dublin IE $
Friday, November 23rd – Merhr! Theater, Hamburg DE $
Saturday, November 24th – TAP1 – Copenhagen, DK $
Sunday, November 25th – Tempodrom, Berlin DE $
Tuesday, November 27th – Tivoli Vredenburg, Utrect NL $
Wednesday, November 28th – Forest National, Brussels BE $
Thursday, November 29th – La Salle Pleyel – Paris, FR
Saturday, February 16th – Madison Square Garden, NYC NY !
* w/ Sunflower Bean
^ w/ The Kills, Sunflower Bean
++ w/ The Kills
$ w/ Nilüfer Yanya
! w/ Car Seat Headrest, Snail Mail
@ w/ Honduras
Interpol online:

Sign up for Matador updates

Privacy Policy